What is Value?

October 2, 2023

Happy Monday everyone! Lots going on in the Cleveland Product community this week, so let’s get to it!

Article of the Week

We Product people are always trying to bring something of value to the market. But what defines value? How do you know if your product brings value to the customer? What if your definition of value is different than theirs, your stakeholders, or others within your organization? I read an article from Marin that helps you solve this, suggesting a simple tactic to unearth the value proposition your product can bring:

  1. I am [a type of customer]

  2. I’m trying to [do this specific task or job]

  3. But [I can’t]

  4. Because [of some reason]

  5. Which makes me feel [some emotion]

This approach puts you into the shoes of your customer and illustrates the problem they need solved, the solution they may already be using in an attempt to solve their problem, and why it won’t work or hasn’t worked. Once you get clarity with this statement, it will become more clear on the value you can bring and the opportunity you have to make an impact for the customer.

Click the Read Article button below to read how this method to identify value!

Product Jobs of the Week

The Product roles at Cleveland companies keep rolling in!

Upcoming Events

  • This week - INDUSTRY the Product Conference is happening right here in Cleveland, and there are limited seats left, and Cleveland Product members can get in for just $399 (regularly $1,245). To claim one of these heavily discounted passes, register on the INDUSTRY conference website and use the code ClevelandProductVIP. I’ll see you there!

  • October 10th - Product Lean Coffee @ Sweet P’s Cafe & Bakery

  • October 20th - Executive Storytelling with Justin Hunsaker (virtual)

About the Author

My name is Shawn Leitner. I started the Cleveland Product networking group in 2017, which helps to connect Product professionals around Cleveland, providing them with a forum to network, learn, and share stories. For my day job, I'm a Product Consultant & Coach for Pathfinder Product and help clients implement strong Product practices so they can create products that their teams love building and their customers love using. Connect with me on LinkedIn or feel free to attend one of my events either virtually or in-person. Always up for meeting for a cup of coffee also!