Think Differently

August 21, 2023

Happy Monday everyone! Lots going on this week in the Cleveland Product scene, so let’s get to it!

Article of the Week

I saw a quote recently that really stuck with me. It’s from Walter Lippmann, an American writer and reporter who once said, “Where all think alike, no one things very much.“ For those of you that know me, I take inspiration from quotes from people of all walks. This quote was intended to be about political discussions, but I think there are many analogies for business conversations.

Often times we build teams and organizations so that we think the same and are aligned in our approaches, driving toward the same goal. Sometimes the approach leads to group think, where all parties think the same. So to be the best Product person, to be the best team, to be the best organization, we need to think differently. I like the below article from Inc. about ways to think differently. In particular, I liked the following points:

  • Engage in inquisitive thinking - This is where I typically use the "5 Why’s” to consider all angles. This will allow you to question the status quo and consider the reasons why you’re building the thing you’re building.

  • Explore big-picture thinking - I’ve encountered many Product teams that get stuck in feature factory mode and forget to look at the larger problem at hand, so don’t forget to cultivate that big-picture thinking, so you can build even better products for your customers.

  • Practice reflective thinking - As you progress in your career and advance in your organization, you should speak less and listen more. Choose to listen first, consider all options and perspectives, then react. This will allow you to respond with insightful responses and gain credibility with your peers.

Read more by clicking the button below.

Product Jobs of the Week

The Product roles at Cleveland companies keep rolling in!

Upcoming Events

  • August 29th - Product Lean Coffee @ Sips and Such Social House

  • October 2nd-4th - INDUSTRY the Product Conference is happening right here in Cleveland, and the first 10 Cleveland Product members can get in for just $399 (regularly $1,245). To claim one of these heavily discounted passes, register on the INDUSTRY conference website and use the code ClevelandProductVIP.

About the Author

My name is Shawn Leitner. I started the Cleveland Product networking group in 2017, which helps to connect Product professionals around Cleveland, providing them with a forum to network, learn, and share stories. For my day job, I'm a Product Consultant & Coach for Pathfinder Product and help clients implement strong Product practices so they can create products that their teams love building and their customers love using. Connect with me on LinkedIn or feel free to attend one of my events either virtually or in-person. Always up for meeting for a cup of coffee also!I haVE