Tell Me More

October 9, 2023

Happy Monday everyone! Lots going on in the Cleveland Product community this week, so let’s get to it!

Article of the Week

Networking is important, we all know that. But many of us are not comfortable doing it. Where do we start? Who do we talk to? How do we be respectful and not pushy? What do I do if there is nothing to talk about?

When I reflect back on my career - heck, my life - I realized that I lacked the confidence to be a good networker, but also some of the mechanics. So I started using one phrase that allowed me to gain confidence, become an active listener, network easier, and even tell better stories myself.

The phrase was, “Tell me more.

When meeting someone for the first time - or talking to them for the 100th time - and hearing them say something interesting, ask them to tell you more. Using this simple phrase shows them that you have interest in what they are saying and want to learn from them. It also helps you have more valuable conversations and build deeper relationships.

I have used this approach in situations both personal and professional. At baseball games and in board rooms. At conferences and on conference calls.

So I was not surprised to see an article from CNBC last week that stated that this phrase is used by people who are good at small talk. Click the Read Article button below to read their perspective, and start networking like I know you can!

Product Jobs of the Week

The Product roles at Cleveland companies keep rolling in!

Upcoming Events

  • This week - Product Lean Coffee @ Sweet P’s Cafe & Bakery

  • October 20th - Executive Storytelling with Justin Hunsaker (virtual)

  • November 8th - Product Lean Coffee @ Van Aken Market Hall

About the Author

My name is Shawn Leitner. I started the Cleveland Product networking group in 2017, which helps to connect Product professionals around Cleveland, providing them with a forum to network, learn, and share stories. For my day job, I'm a Product Consultant & Coach for Pathfinder Product and help clients implement strong Product practices so they can create products that their teams love building and their customers love using. Connect with me on LinkedIn or feel free to attend one of my events either virtually or in-person. Always up for meeting for a cup of coffee also!