Context Switching

May 1, 2023

Happy Monday everyone! There is a lot going on in the Cleveland Product scene, so let’s get to it!

Article of the Week

Product people need to work with lots of stakeholders to get stuff done, but they also need some heads-down focus time. But the inevitable instant message, phone call, or email interrupts that. This context switching can really slow down momentum, stymie innovation and creativity, and frustrate you. So what tactics can we take to avoid context switching?

I've found two ways to limit context switching. One, I block off time on my calendar as focus time. This allows me to have uninterrupted time to focus on getting things done, whether it be roadmapping, backlog refinement, strategic thinking, or market research. Of course, focus time on my calendar requires my colleagues to respect it, and for me to respect their focus time as well. Two, I stay organized with a prioritized list. Having a prioritized list of items (with due dates) helps me stay on-task with my most important tasks so that when the inevitable context switch comes, I can more easily switch back to what I was working on. You'll never be able to completely eliminate context switching, but planning focus time and being organized helps me limit the impact on my day.

Product HQ has a good article on context switching, click below to read more.

Recent Events

Last week we had a nice conversation at our monthly Product Lean Coffee, where we discussed how to help senior leaders create inspiring strategies, ways to market new features, and how to define boundaries as a Product Manager on a Scrum team.

Product Jobs of the Week

The Product roles at Cleveland companies keep rolling in!

Upcoming Events

  • May 17th - Quiet Quitting: Apathy or Setting Intentional Boundaries?

About the Author

My name is Shawn Leitner. I started the Cleveland Product networking group in 2017, which helps to connect Product professionals around Cleveland, providing them with a forum to network, learn, and share stories. For my day job, I'm a Product Consultant & Coach for Pathfinder Product and help clients implement strong Product practices so they can create products that their teams love building and their customers love using. Connect with me on LinkedIn or feel free to attend one of my events either virtually or in-person. Always up for meeting for a cup of coffee also!